Sat. Jul 13th, 2024

More than 1,600 Precinct Delegates from Michigan’s 13 congressional districts assembled at the Republican District Convention in Grand Rapids last weekend. Delegates overwhelmingly chose Donald Trump as their nominee for Republican Presidential Candidate.

The Grand Rapids convention also elected 55 Delegates and 52 Alternates to represent Michigan at the Republican National Convention in Milwaukee July 15-18. KGOP Chair Kelly Sackett was elected Permanent Chair of the District 4 Caucus, which chose six Delegates and six Alternates (of Michigan’s 107 total) for the Milwaukee convention.

Five KGOP members are among the Delegates and Alternates to be sent to Milwaukee. KGOP
Chair Kelly Sackett and Vice Chair Charley Coss were elected as Delegates; KGOP Executive Committee Members Dr. Tamara Mitchell and Jason Mikkelborg were chosen as Alternate Delegates.

Former Attorney General Candidate and KGOP Executive Committee member Matt DePerno was chosen as an At-Large Alternate for Milwaukee.

Congressman Bill Huizenga (4th District, which includes Kalamazoo County) will be an At-Large Delegate. Both will cast their votes for Donald J. Trump. Congressman Tim Walberg (5th District, which includes Kalamazoo County) will also be an At-Large Delegate (5th District), and will cast his vote for Donald J. Trump.

The Grand Rapids assembly also re-elected Rob Steele as Michigan’s RNC Committeeman, and elected Hima Kolangireddy as our new RNC Committeewoman.